Are we all racists now?

Or, to be more precise, have we always been so blatantly racist? If the events in Qamishly and Darfur prove anything about the Arab peoples, regimes and intellectuals included, is that they are far from being immune to racist stands. More so, we seem to be mired in them, immersed to the neck, in fact, but we are too numb, too absorbed with our feeling of victimhood, to pay attention, to notice. Apartheid, genocide, and slavery, especially slavery (how could we so conveniently forget about our history with slavery?) are not foreign crimes, as we have always contended. We are as equally guilty in this regard as everyone else.

Although, this is not necessarily a new realization on my part, but having to face it at this stage, against the backdrop of the massacres taking place in Darfur, not to mention the duplicity of Arab regimes and intellectuals in covering it up, and, at occasions, in rationalizing it, is simply too sickening for me to be able to hide my disgust. But then, why should I hide it? Showing and sharing it is the least I could do at this stage, though “doing my least” is not exactly very comforting…