A Heretical Headache!

There are so many things to write about these days, so many things. But so little time to do it. 

 

Should I write about the Saturday night extravaganza at the Sheraton Hotel, featuring a rare fashion show in Syria and a rather interesting performance by the Iraqi singer Kazem al-Saher? Or should I join in the speculations concerning the upcoming visit by the President to New York? Or should I wax angrily and disdainfully poetic over a recent Egyptian video-clip meant to denounce Islamist terrorism and falling much short of the target? Or the ongoing campaign by the Syrian government to appear steadfast if not nonchalant in the face of its current diplomatic isolation and increasing economic woes? 

Too many choices. Too much input. Too little time to sort things out. So, let’s not sort anything out. Nothing matters. Nothing really matters. Not tonight darling, I have a headache. I really do have a headache. I can be on the receiving end of headaches it seems. Damn! What an Ubermensh I turned out to be!

21 thoughts on “A Heretical Headache!

  1. Ammar,I’m sorry you are feeling so down and depressed lately. Indeed, the entire Middle East seems to be in a pit of depression lately. I read many of the bloggers from there and so many are just sick and tired of being sick and tired. I pray that things take a turn for the better for you, your nation, and the region in general. I can only speak for myself, but I wish you nothing but the best.

  2. What is to be done about the situation in the middle east? If even you “have a headache” and are unable to steer the ship to shore, who will do it? Are you secretly waiting to be invaded by the U.S. so that this will take the problem out of your hands and everyone will have something to rally against? I hope not.

  3. BAD NEWS”Syrian government plans to control electronic publishingOn August 18, the independent Al Wasat newspaper reported that Taleb Kadi Amin, assistant to the media minister, said: “Syrian authorities are planning to control electronic publishing, [because] the current mess that is happening now does not benefit anyone.” This statement comes as a result of Media Minister Mehdi Dakhlallah’s initiative to develop the media sector while upholding freedom of speech which the constitution guarantees. The issue of electronic publishing was raised by Syrian journalists who showed great concern over the possibility of being controlled by the government, given that Syrian authorities have been dealing very firmly with many news websites like “News from the East,” “Elaph,” “IslamOnLine,” and “Al Quds al-Arabi,” sometimes shutting them down or forbidding them from publishing altogether, Al Wasat reported. Al Wasat stated that the electronic sites are the only free platform for Syrian journalists and writers who are not capable of publishing in the official newspapers. Hakam al-Baba, the journalist and webmaster of the website “Freedom” said: “The government’s inclination toward having a new law for publishing restrains the electronic publishing sector and sends Syria to the middle ages and to the days of inspection boards for the sake of having only one chain of thought.” – Al Wasat, Bahrain

  4. “The current mess that is happening now does not benefit anyone”And somebody needs to start archiving the rest of the web too. It’s just a mishmash out there. Way to many ubermensch’s. Here, have an aspirin.

  5. CHECK OUT:www.souriaty.blogspot.comTHE CAMPAIGN FOR SYRIAScratches the surface to see what’s really going in Syria’s political life. PLEASE LEAVE YOUR COMMENTS AT THE SOURIATY BLOG AND NOT HERE BECAUSE THEN WE CAN’T GET YOUR FEEDBACK

  6. Don’t be discouraged. Just listen to ordinary people for inspiration. Have a look at http://www.sowtona.com for a blog about a special reporting project that’s going on in Egypt now. Egyptian journalists interviewed more than 1,000 ordinary citizens about their problems, and published a special supplement called “Our Voice”. The stories from the supplement are posted on this blog.

  7. The Virgo ExtravaganzaLate August and early September is Virgo time. So, the last week has been a collection of parties … Caitlyn celebrates her birthday on August 28.) (Blogger/actor Wiley Wiggins and SXSW tech guru David Rose have a drink at the Tambaleo bar on Saturday.Great Blog! If you have time see my ##work at home## related site. enjoy! It pretty much covers ##work at home## related stuff.

  8. Israel prevents Rabin’s killer from reproducingIn 1995, Jewish extremist Yigal Amir assassinated Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin.Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you!I have a homeschool site. It pretty much covers homeschool related stuff.Come and check it out if you get time 🙂

  9. Hi, I was searching blogs, and came onto yours fantastic blog.I have a niche site. It pretty much covers how make money with niche marketing.Keep it up. I’ll check back later im sure.

  10. Nice Blog!!!   I thought I’d tell you about a site that will let give you places whereyou can make extra cash! I made over $800 last month. Not bad for not doing much. Just put in yourzip code and up will pop up a list of places that are available. I live in a small area and found quitea few. MAKE MONEY NOW

  11. Nice Blog!!!   I thought I’d tell you about a site that will let give you places whereyou can make extra cash! I made over $800 last month. Not bad for not doing much. Just put in yourzip code and up will pop up a list of places that are available. I live in a small area and found quitea few. MAKE MONEY NOW

  12. Nice Blog!!!   I thought I’d tell you about a site that will let give you places whereyou can make extra cash! I made over $800 last month. Not bad for not doing much. Just put in yourzip code and up will pop up a list of places that are available. I live in a small area and found quitea few. MAKE MONEY NOW

  13. Hi i am totally blown away with the blogs people have created its so much fun to read alot of good info and you have also one of the best blogs !! Have some time check my link to !!Money made easy

  14. Nice Blog!!!   I thought I’d tell you about a site that will let give you places whereyou can make extra cash! I made over $800 last month. Not bad for not doing much. Just put in yourzip code and up will pop up a list of places that are available. I live in a small area and found quitea few. MAKE MONEY NOW

  15. The blog is interesting and keeps me pondering on several aspects of society. I know a organization in India which carries out Free Heart Surgery of Kids. There are several other such organisations. Internet has become a way of life for many. Everything can be found on Internet nowdays from free classifieds to real estate and rentals , from jobs to dating.and from religion to health.Google adsense is providing a lot of opportunity for internet publishers to earn over net. Everyday new inventions are taking place, like one of my friend showed me this site which allows to shorten url. And many such free tools are available on the net today. Even Internet domains are a very sought after thing today.

Comments are closed.