The Heretic & the Genie!

As difficult as it is to imagine, not to mention actually conjure, there is really no reasonable course left for the Syrian people if they do want to get out from under the yoke of this endless night of lies, corruption and oppression, but civil disobedience

If we don’t get the Street moving and along the right lines soon, the Street will eventually be moved along our infamous sectarian fault-lines. Indeed, those who continue to think that there is no real alternative to the Syrian regime miss the point completely. For the alternative is a catastrophic collapse of the last vestiges of our social order and our civil society. This alternative is already working itself onto the scene. Iraq fell long before Saddam, and so will Syria.

Calls such as One Day that Could Change Syria needs to be reiterated as often as possible, until people eventually heed them, or the whole thing comes crash in down upon us. People need to be mobilized, and corruption is the one issue that can unite most, if not all social groups. Once people fall into the habit of practicing people power, the move to a more direct opposition to the regime will follow. If time at this stage does not seem to be on our side, or if some are arguing that it is still too early or has already become too late for such moves, we should pay no kind to that, and continue to forge ahead. Because, if history has proven anything, it is that time is always on the side of those who plan and organize and forge ahead to the implementation phase, no matter what appearances tend to suggest.

The only people who might be doing something along these lines in Syria these days seem to be the Muslim Brotherhood, and other Islamist groups – not a very unifying force to say the least, and the regime might be using this fact, or over-blowing it, in order to shore itself up.

But the fear that secularists have vis-à-vis the Street and the “Masses” needs to stop. In order to undercut the influence of both the regime and the Islamists on the Street the secular opposition needs to take the initiative in appealing to it. The genie may not be easily controllable once it is out the lamp, but inside the lamp it is absolutely useless. And the genie is the only hope we have left.

7 thoughts on “The Heretic & the Genie!

  1. Civil disobedience is the most effective tool of bringing about change aimed at creating social jusice. It is not acceptable to use violent means in order to attain a “peaceful and nonviolent end”.As Martin Luther King Jr has preached by borrowing from Gandhi, Thoreau and Augustine a citizen must see it as his/her duty to oppose injustice and unjust laws in all spheres. “An unjust law is no law at all” and those who show the courage to resist these laws must do so with the clear understanding that there is a price to be paid for their disobedience and they must be willing to accept it. Until and unless the Syrian citizen develops such courage then the possibilities of having a peacful change in Syria will be very much reduced.

  2. If there is some sort of mass protest in the streets against corruption, I think it should be spearheaded by a group of maybe 20-30 people who actually care, and in the back just people chanting “Bil Dam, Bil Roh, Nafdeek ya….” to give off the appearance to those watching from a certain angle that the masses have risen. Besides, with that cry in the back, it will be easy to snag a few followers here and there because they’d already be used to it.

  3. Thanks for the advice guys. But before we go into the Street, we have to develop some better understanding of what short term and long term goals are, and a clearer understanding of what strategies need to be deployed, and when. We have to start with something simple and not too demanding, physically or psychologically. People have to be broken out of their old habits of fear and recalcitrance and into the new habit of confrontation, no matter how peaceful this confrontation is. I’d welcome more input on this.

  4. Ammar I have always interpreted the hyperlink at the end of a post very literally. I understood “Comment” to be just that. Definetly it never crossed my mind that “comment” meant advice.I will never pretend to be dispensing advice in these comments. To me its nothing more than sharing some thoughts and engaing in a dialogue.

  5. Well, then, Ghassan, please continue to share your thoughts and comments with us, I do value them however they are labeled and I do appreciate your taking the time to share them.

  6. well how about you go to syria and demonstrate. Its easy for you to ask for such demonstrations sitting up in maryland without witnessing its effects or consequences. I assume if anything happens, you will simply fly back “home.”

  7. I was in Syria not a few months ago making similar calls, putting my life and that of my family on the line. The problem is that very few people showed much receptivity to the idea, and the authorities managed to isolate me and my team easily enough, I have to admit, and I had to leave the country under very credible threats. If you read my early blogs, you’ll know what I am talking about. So, yes, I am now safe in Maryland, and the situation is getting worse back home, and civil disobedience is our only way for dealing with it while avoiding violence, to the best of our abilities of course. Sorry, but the obvious truth of no sacrifice no freedom holds true wherever one happens to be. I cannot change my views just because I am not “there” anymore. There are so many friends and family members there I don’t see how much difference my being here really makes. There are still a lot of ways I can be hurt even while here. Between the cruelty of our ruling regime, the cynicism of our cowed populations, and the corruption of so many segments of our society, it seems much easier to pick on someone like me, doesn’t it? I am the traitor, I am the opportunist, I am the profiteer, and the people and the regime and the homeland are the victims of the conspiracies that the likes of me continues to hatch. So be it. I knew I was getting myself into. I walked onto this scene willingly and with my eyes wide open. Believe me, I am probably more stupid than an opportunist.

Comments are closed.